Welcome to the New ChinaGeeks

That’s right! Our three-hundredth post also happens to be the first post on our brand-new domain here at chinageeks.org. There are a lot of reasons for this move — first and foremost, search engine optimization — but you’ll notice that we’ve also done a bit of redecorating, and there are some new features on the site, with more coming in the coming days.

Don’t worry, we’ll get right back to the China-related goodness after this post, but for now, there are a few things you can do that would make us (me, especially) very, very grateful:

  1. UPDATE YOUR BOOKMARKS AND RSS READERS! ChinaGeeks’s URL has changed and so has our RSS feed. We don’t want to lose any readers in the transition, so please edit your bookmarks and RSS readers right now (you know you will forget if you put it off until later).
  2. Let us know what you think of the site, and what features you would like to see added. Specifically, I’m toying with the idea of bringing back post and comment ratings and I wonder what you all think of that; but other ideas and requests are very welcome as well.
  3. If you run a China blog please update your blogroll! This is a big thing for our SEO, and you’ll notice that our blogroll already has an up-to-date link to your blog…(if we don’t have your blog on the blogroll, shoot me an email at custerc at chinageeks.org and I will add it!)

That’s all for now. We look forward to hearing your comments! Once again, welcome (and thanks to everyone who replied saying the site is loading fine without a VPN all over China)!

0 thoughts on “Welcome to the New ChinaGeeks”

  1. Looks good. I didn’t know being on a subdomain was so bad for SEO, are you sure of that?

    I say this because, for GFW prevention reasons I usually recommend to host in a subdomain. This is what helped me free myself from the infamous URL RC they put on my old address.

    In fact, there are a few GFW prevention practices that are contrary to SEO practices, so sometimes you have to choose. For example, I decided to use numeric URLs for posts instead of descriptive ones to avoid keywords to pass into the URLs.

    Anyway, good job. And what is that strange grey rectange that appears below the comments?

    Like

  2. Nice. The design is much better now. I loved the post ratings, sometimes people don´t feel like leaving a comment, so you can express your opinion just by a rating system. I love it.

    Like

  3. Hello! Just found your website and I’m definitely enjoying it so far! One thing: I only found your updated RSS feed by using your search bar and stumbling across this post. Might just be my own failsauce visual acuity, but is there a way to put a link to it under the “Follow” section to make it easier to subscribe? Thanks, and again, great site!

    Like

Leave a Reply

