Two New Translations

Just a quick FYI, I have two new translations up at other blogs:

America Sells Arms to Taiwan, Netizen Reactions (ChinaSMACK)- Translation of an editorial piece from China.com about the arms sale and netizen comments from a couple places. Check out the article, avoid the terrifying, terrifying comments (not the Chinese netizen comments, the actual ChinaSMACK commenters)

Acosta: The Desert Spring (CNReviews)- Translation of a blog post from popular blogger Acosta that I think gives a little window into post-80s and post-90s thinking about success and sacrifice.

If you’re interested, check them out!

Plus, if you haven’t seen it already, check out Kaiser Kuo’s guest translation!

0 thoughts on “Two New Translations”

  1. I don’t quite understand the CNReview comments that somehow (at least that what I feel) want to drag politics into this. I read the original Chinese article, and to me it is just how the blogger muses upon daily life.

    Like

  2. I couldn’t resist the temptation and went to ChinaSmack and read the “terrifying, terrifying comments.” That’s half an hour of my life I won’t get back. I’ll try not to look the next time.

    I’ve recommended anti-cnn sometimes mainly because I go there to check their translations of German and French news reports (Die Spiegel or Le Monde), and sometimes I wander off if I see interesting topics. The (racial) hatred there is every now and then highly disturbing too, but sometimes it pales in front of ChinaSmack whose users, when despising the Chinese, sometimes even drag the Koreans and Japanese or East Asians as a whole into the hate. I’ve been to some of the Chinese expat forums and even an expat Japanese online community in the US and they mainly talk about their daily life, their struggles, what they learn and enjoy from life in America. To jump to conclusion, I think the Chinese netizens should at least for once go to ChinaSmack. It’ll be an eye-opening experience and help them shape a more comprehensive picture of the dynamics between China and the West.

    Like

  3. I’ve been lurking around China Smack for about six months, and have deepened my understanding of the Spock character in Star Trek and sometimes…Alright often …laugh my ass off.

    Like

  4. Yeah, I don’t really know what to say about those people. I didn’t read all the comments because they just made me angry and depressed. Racism is racism is racism.

    I think there’s a lack of seriousness at the heart of a lot of expats’ experience of China. In contrast, Chinese expats in the U.S. and elsewhere , like the ones whose blogs Woodoo mentioned, are working their butts off at universities and are a bit more grounded and a good deal less spiteful.

    Of course, it’s fine for people to explore and drift in the PRC—I certainly have and I have other foreign friends who have, all with meaningful results. But at some point it seems like China deserves more foreigners with a real commitment to the place, who are ready engage the country in a more than a fleeting, running-commentary mode.

    And I suppose some of the balance of privileges needs to be reset.

    Like

  5. @ OTR: Agreed, although I think plenty of Chinese living in the US aren’t necessarily any less spiteful, just also more serious and hardworking (for examples, look to our own fenqing friends here at CG, I think).

    But yeah, most expats in China (in my experience) don’t make a huge effort to really engage with the place or the people. That should be changing as more and more people study China/Chinese, and more people move to China for economic reasons, but who knows. Culture shock can lead to spite pretty easily, and if you don’t engage with the people that spite more or less never fades…

    Like

Leave a Reply

